Hit Publish, Not Save

May 21, 2018

If I don’t write out what my thoughts are and hit publish…

And instead of hit “save” to finish later…

Then that post, that thought, is likely to be obsolete later and I’ll have missed that moment to fully experience or express it.

Case and point: I have a lot of saved drafts, saved ideas, unpublished posts that were all once really important and meaningful at that moment … but since I didn’t hit publish, or didn’t finish it and then put it out there … whatever was in writing at that moment is not actually relevant anymore (most of the time). I can’t connect to that message I was writing then.

I can’t – and don’t want to – “go back to that way of thinking” in order to flesh it out.

I’ve since experienced new things, gone to new levels of awareness, … I’ve evolved to the point where that way of thinking is an old way of thinking.

If I don’t finish and publish that post in that moment (or very soon), then I lose that moment and now I’m better off deleting the majority of saved drafts, saved blog post ideas, unpublished posts – and cleaning out my “mental RAM” from feeling like I have so many things to post/publish.

If it’s really that important or that relevant, I can almost guarantee it will come back as a freshly inspired idea.

//

Photo by rawpixel on Unsplash

The Call to Solitude

The Call to Solitude

Over the past couple of weeks there has been a call to adventure – inwards towards the heart, full of solitude and introspection.